• Blues Radio
  • Rock Radio
  • Metal Radio
  • Strange Brew Radio
  • Electronica Radio
  • Alternative Rock Radio

Five at 5 – Vol. 25

It’s Tuesday and it’s 5pm. What else do you need to know? Tune in to Five at 5. Now!

12 Feb, 2013

Naman Saraiya

Contributing Writer

The Indiecision Five at 5 is our attempt at sharing our musical tastes with you, and showcasing music from around the world. Each weekday at 5pm sharp, one NH7 writer or staffer will bring you five songs he/she is listening to on the day. Today is the legendary Naman Saraiya’s turn on the decks.

1. Youth Lagoon – ‘Dropla’
Trevor Powers’ experimental, ambient, electronica-fused music takes it one step up with the new single from their Youth Lagoon’s upcoming sophomore release, Wondrous Bughouse. More instrumentation and more sampling makes me eager to find out more about the San Diego musicians’ approach to this record after the minimalist and mind-bending 2011 debut The Year of Hibernation. Check out ‘Dropla’ from the upcoming release. Drops March 5.

2. James Blake – ‘Retrogade’
A couple of years ago, my brother put on some James Blake in the car when half way into ‘Wilhelms Scream’ my mother thought something was wrong with the car. The glitch remains, but the wave of urgency that Blake creates with ‘Retrogade’ makes it apt for a slow-motion video of all things breaking, sucking you into a daze. The video’s quite cool, and the new record Overgrown is out on April 8.

3. Passion Pit – ‘Take A Walk’
Indie pop rockers Passion Pit’s second record’s album opener literally urges you to do what its title suggests. Perhaps as an action while listening to the sweet-infused, melancholic, sample-heavy tracklist showing off its happiness in creating music that isn’t so happy after all. ‘Take A Walk’, in theatrical terms, almost opens with a slow fade in of a spotlight suddenly bursting into a riot of light and colour resembling a marching band at a New Year parade. While it’s been a few months since it’s been out there, it’s still playing on my iTunes. Here’s what we thought of the album.

4. Benjamin Gibbard – ‘Oh, Woe’
The Death Cab for Cutie frontman’s solo record, Former Lives, was a long time coming. While most fans of Gibbard would have expected another album reeking of disappointment and loss of love, Former Lives came as a bit of a surprise – perhaps an unexpected one. While most songs on the record were written over a decade, they’re notably more upbeat and manage to let in rays of hope (a bit of which we saw in Death Cab’s 2011 Codes and Keys). ‘Oh, Woe’ was possibly his answer to why he writes songs the way he does.

5. The Postal Service – ‘A Tattered Line of String’
Since we’re on the topic of Ben Gibbard right now, might as well check out the new Postal Service that dropped around midnight (IST) last night! There’s been much cheer about the band reuniting for a few shows this year. Gibbard and Tamborello, along with the rest of the band, will be playing headlining slots at Coachella and Primavera Sound – celebrating a decade of their monumental debut Give Up. Here’s an answer to most who were hopeful of the news warranting new material. Now for the album!

Check out previous editions of Five at 5 here, and stay tuned for more picks from NH7, Monday through Friday.

Editor's Pick



Oh noes, You need to be logged in to create and edit playlists. Please log in/ register to experience awesomeness.