• Blues Radio
  • Rock Radio
  • Metal Radio
  • Strange Brew Radio
  • Electronica Radio
  • Alternative Rock Radio

Watch: The Dewarists S01E08 – No ID Required

The eighth episode of The Dewarists features New Delhi electro-fusion pioneers Midival Punditz who collaborate with Sikh-Canadian rapper Humble The Poet and Monica Dogra.

5 Dec, 2011


Indiecision Staff

The Dewarists is a 10-part television series, created by whiskey brand Dewar’s, that airs on Sundays at 8pm on Star World. The show features collaborations between artists of different genres, shot at locations across India. Each episode will centre around the creation of an original track by the combination of musicians, and will culminate in the performance of the new composition.

The eighth episode of the show features New Delhi electro-fusion pioneers Midival Punditz who collaborate with Sikh-Canadian rapper Humble The Poet and the show’s host, Monica Dogra (aka Shaa’ir of Shaa’ir + Func). This is the second song in the series to feature a vocal contribution by Dogra, the first being ‘Changing World’ from the fifth episode of the show. The episode is shot in Goa, and produces the track ‘No ID Required’ (download here). The song was performed live at the Eristoff Wolves Den on day one of the Bacardi NH7 Weekender during the Punditz’ excellent set (details).

The episode is now available for streaming in its entirety and in full HD. Watch ‘No ID Required’ below.

The first episode of the show featured Grammy Award-winning singer-songwriter Imogen Heap who collaborated with Bollywood music producing giants Vishal-Shekhar for the track ‘Minds Without Fear’ (watch here). The second episode featured Pakistani singer-songwriter duo Zeb & Haniya who collaborated with singers Shantanu Moitra and Swanand Kirkire for the track ‘Kya Khayaal Hai’ (watch here). The third episode featured New Delhi rock giants Indian Ocean who collaborate with singer Mohit Chauhan to create the track ‘Maaya’ (watch here). The fourth episode featured rock acts Agnee and Parikrama who collaborate with singer Shilpa Rao to create the song ‘I Believe’. The fifth episode of the series features breakbeat performer Shri, singer-songwriter Monica Dogra, and folk collective Rajasthan Roots in a collaboration titled ‘Changing World’ (watch here). Assamese singer Angaraag ‘Papon’ Mahanta (of Papon & The East India Company) collaborates with Punjabi singer-songwriter Rabbi Shergill in the sixth episode to write and perform the song ‘Khule Da Rabb’ (watch here). The seventh episode of the show features Bangalore folk rockers Swarathma who collaborate with Hindustani classical chanteuse Shubha Mudgal to write the song ‘Duur Kinara’ (watch here).

To know more about the show, read this post.

Editor's Pick



Oh noes, You need to be logged in to create and edit playlists. Please log in/ register to experience awesomeness.